The Fire Station building façade, viewed from Mohammed bin Thani Street in Doha, Qatar.

Our Building

Our building was repurposed in 2014 to host Fire Station: Artist in Residence and includes extensive studios and workspaces, a woodshop, and a fabrication lab, alongside the Fire Station Cinema, Café 999, Cass Art (art supply shop), and gallery spaces housing local and international art exhibitions.

The design and renovation of the building were entrusted to Qatari architect Ibrahim Al Jaidah who was commissioned to redesign the interior of the building to cater specifically to the needs of artists. Qatar Museums was keen to preserve the original façade and many of its key features, thereby keeping much of the original integrity of the building intact.

Insert text here

 

Landscape view of the exterior of the Fire Station's Garage Gallery's bright yellow door shutters

 

External view of Fire Station: Artist in Residence illuminated at night

 

Working on the Fire Station adaptive reuse project was very exciting for two reasons: first, as an art enthusiast, I saw this project as a testament to the booming art scene in Qatar and second, as a practising architect, I perceived this project as a first formal acknowledgement of the importance to preserve early-modern architecture in Qatar.

– Ibrahim Al Jaidah, The Group CEO & Chief Architect of the Arab Engineering Bureau

'Adaptive Reuse' Space

As this was one of the first 'adaptive reuse' spaces in Qatar, Al Jaidah's goal was to preserve the building's original identity; hence the annex building is designed in a minimalistic, industrial manner so that it does not visually compete with the original building. Some of the original interior elements of the building were kept, such as the firefighters' pole.

Sustainability

As part of Qatar Museums' sustainability initiatives, the Fire Station building was awarded the 'LEED v4.1 EB: O+M Silver Certification' under the 'LEED v4.1 Existing Building: Operations & Management (EB: O+M)' rating system in 2020.

Also, in 2020, Fire Station successfully achieved 'GSAS OPERATIONS – Silver Certification' under the Gulf Organization for Research and Development green building rating system developed focusing on the efficient Operations & Maintenance (O&M) of existing facilities.

The Fire Station is the first LEED v4.1 EB: O+M certified project in the entire State of Qatar and the fifth in the Middle East region, and it is the first museum project to achieve GSAS Operations certification.

Share this page

واجهة مبنى مطافئ: مقر الفنانين من شارع محمد بن ثاني في الدوحة، قطر.

مبنى مطافئ

أُعيدت تهيئة المبنى في عام 2014 لاحتضان مطافئ: مقر الفنانين، الذي يضمّ استوديوهات ومساحات عمل واسعة، وورشة خشب، ومختبر تصنيع (فاب لاب)، إلى جانب سينما مطافئ، ومقهى 999، وكاس آرت (متجر مستلزمات الفن)، ومساحات للمعارض تستضيف معارض فنية محلية ودولية.

وقد كان تصميم وإعادة تأهيل المبنى موكل إلى المعماري القطري، إبراهيم الجيدة، والذي تم تكليفه بإعادة تصميم المبنى من الداخل لتلبية احتياجات الفنانين على وجه الخصوص. وحرصت متاحف قطر على الإبقاء على الواجهة الأصلية للمبنى، والعديد من ملامحه الرئيسية أثناء عملية التجديد، لتحافظ بذلك على العديد من المعالم الأصيلة والأصلية للمبنى.

جدارية على الجدار الخارجي لمبنى مطافئ: مقر الفنانين

 

منظر طبيعي للجزء الخارجي من كراج جاليري في مطافئ مع مصاريع أبواب صفراء زاهية

 

لقطة خارجية لمبنى مطافئ: مقر الفنانين مضاء ليلاً

 

كان العمل في مشروع "إعادة الاستخدام المتكيِّف" في مطافئ مثيرًا للغاية لسببين، أولهما، نظرًا لشغفي بالفن، أعتبر هذا المشروع دليلًا على المشهد الفني المزدهر في قطر. أما الثاني، كمعماري ممارس، أتصور هذا المشروع بمثابة اعتراف رسمي بأهمية الحفاظ على العمارة الحديثة في قطر.

- إبراهيم الجيدة، الرئيس التنفيذي للمجموعة، ورئيس المعماريين في المكتب العربي للشؤون الهندسية

فضاء لإعادة الاستخدام المتكيِّف

نظرًا لكونه واحدًا من أولى الفضاءات التي تهتم بإعادة الاستخدام المتكيِّف في قطر، فقد كان إبراهيم الجيدة يسعى للحفاظ على هوية المبنى الأصلية، وبالتالي صُمّم المبنى الملحق بطريقة بسيطة حتى لا تتنافس بصريًا مع المبنى الأصلي. وتم الاحتفاظ ببعض العناصر الأصلية داخل المبنى، مثل عمود رجال الإطفاء.

الاستدامة

في إطار مبادرات الاستدامة المتبعة في متاحف قطر، حصل مبنى مطافئ شهادة LEED v4.1 EB: O+M الفضية، تحت فئة LEED v4.1 عنوان المبنى الحالي: نظام تصنيف العمليات والإدارة (EB: O+M).في عام 2020.

وفي نفس العام، نجح مبنى مطافئ في الحصول على شهادة جي ساس الفضية للعمليات، وذلك ضمن نظام تصنيف المباني الخضراء من المنظمة الخليجية للبحث والتطوير، والذي تم تطويره بالتركيز على كفاءة العمليات والصيانة للمرافق الحالية.

ويعتبر مبنى مطافئ، أول مشروع يحصل على شهادة LEED EB: O+M المرموقة على صعيد قطر، بموجب إصدار نظام التصنيف LEED v4.1 EB: O+M، كما يعتبر الخامس في منطقة الشرق الأوسط. وجدير بالذكر أن مطافئ: مقر الفنانين هو أول مشروع متحفي يحصل على شهادة جي ساس للعمليات.

شارك هذه الصفحة