Public Art Talks: Nazgol Ansarinia, Rashid Johnson, Ernesto Neto, and Suki Seokyeong Kang in conversation.

Monday, December 9, 2019

Date: Monday, 9 December 2019
Location: Fire Station, Cinema 
Time: 7:00pm
 
Continuing the series ‘Public Art Talks’, please join artists Nazgol Ansarinia, Rashid Johnson, Ernesto Neto, and Suki Seokyeong Kang for a conversation on their practice and art in the public realm, moderated by Curator Tom Eccles. The event is introduced by Abdulrahman Al Ishaq, Head of Public Art, Qatar Museums.

Nazgol Ansarinia has a practice that poetically investigates the everyday. Her work seeks out the most mundane aspects of life in her home city of Tehran, isolating and reassembling found objects to highlight their evocative dimensions. The artist's background in design informs her practice, which employs a variety of media such as video, sculpture and drawing.

Rashid Johnson has a multidisciplinary practice that incorporates diverse materials rich with symbolism and personal history. Johnson embeds a range of everyday materials and objects in his work that are often associated with his childhood and collective aspects of African American intellectual history and cultural identity. 

Ernesto Neto explores constructions of social space and the natural world by inviting physical interaction and sensory experience. Neto incorporates organic shapes and materials such as spices, sand and shells in his work to renegotiate boundaries between the organic and manmade, the natural, spiritual and social worlds.

Suki Seokyeong Kang works in sculpture, video and performance installations. Her sculptural objects in powder coated steel and wood are softened by fluid textiles and fabrics that are draped or tied on the static structures. Kang’s work explores systems of movement and rhythmic practices, often looking to personal stories and South Korean histories of dance or music.

حوارات الفن العام: نازغول أنساريا ، رشيد جونسون ، إرنستو نيتو ، وسوكي سوك يونج كانج

Monday, December 9, 2019

التاريخ: الاثنين 9 ديسمبر 2019
الموقع: سينما مطافئ للفن
الوقت: 7 مساءً

استكمالاً "لحوارات الفن العام" التي تنظمها متاحف قطر، انضموا إلينا في الحلقة النقاشية التي نستضيف فيها الفنانين نازغول أنساريا ورشيد جونسون وإرنستو نيتو وسوكي سوكيونج كانج للحديث عن ممارساتهم الإبداعية والفن في الفضاء العام، ويدير الجلسة أمين المعرض توم اكليس. وسيتفضل بتقديمهم رئيس قسم الفنون العامة في متاحف قطر السيد عبدالرحمن الإسحاق.

تكشف ممارسات نازغول أنساريا عن حسها الإبداعي في تصوير تفاصيل الحياة العادية، حيث تبحث جاهدة عن كل ما له صلة بمظاهر الحياة اليومية في مدينتها طهران ثم تقوم بعزله وإعادة تشكيله من جديد لتسليط الضوء على أبعاده المثيرة. وتستند الفنانة في ممارستها على خلفيتها في التصميم حيث تعمد إلى توظيف مجموعة متنوعة من الوسائط مثل الفيديو والنحت والرسم.

تعكس ممارسات رشيد جونسون الفنية عن توجه متعدد التخصصات حيث  تضم أعماله الكثير من الرمزية والتاريخ الشخصي، ويقوم جونسون في فنه بتوظيف مجموعة من المواد اليومية التي ترتبط غالبًا بطفولته والتاريخ الجمعي الذي شكَّل ملامح هويته الثقافية كفرد من المجتمع الأمريكي الأفريقي.

يبحث إرنستو نيتو في إنتاجه الفني عن مظاهر التكوين الاجتماعي والتشكل الطبيعي من خلال الدمج بين المادي والحسي، كما يخلط في أعماله بين الأشكال والمواد العضوية المختلفة كالتوابل والرمال والأصداف لإعادة رسم  الحدود بين العوالم المتضادة كالعضوي والصناعي، والعالم الطبيعي والوجداني مع نقيضه الاجتماعي.

تعمل سوكي سوكيونج كانج في أعمال النحت والفيديو والإستعراض، وتعمد سوكي إلى تليين مجسماتها المنحوتة المصنوعة من الصلب المطلي والخشب بواسطة منسوجات وأقمشة سائلة مائلة أو مربوطة بالهياكل الساكنة، وتكشف منحوتاتها عن أنظمة الحركة والممارسات الإيقاعية، وغالبًا ما تركز أعمالها على القصص الشخصية لتاريخ كوريا الجنوبية في الرقص والموسيقى.