Little Babylon

Thursday, November 15, 2018 to Thursday, November 29, 2018

Dates:  15 – 29 November
Location: Fire Station Plaza

Rezone is an experimental art, architecture and new-media initiative from‘s-Hertogenbosch, the Netherlands. It strives to create projects that connect architecture, urban planning, art and new media.

Rezone, together with ONL architects, Air Design Studio, Marijn Moerbeek, Thomas Rutgers, have developed an interactive and mobile pavilion named Little Babylon. The pavilion Little Babylon is an inflatable ‘data-parasite’. It can be placed at random locations and festivals to collect data about the city it is located in. Little Babylon communicates this data with the audience in an interactive way as a dynamic, audio-visual show.

On a smaller scale Little Babylon also interacts with the audience that is present when they use their social media with e.g. specific hash tags. This unique experience communicates a blend of digital data and physical and dynamic architecture in an entire new fashion. It portrays, as a big three-dimensional data-visualization, the moment-to-moment emotions of the citizens in real time.

We live in a time that is dealing with the fact that next to a big physical urban condition and heritage we also live in and with a digital world. Little Babylon plays with what it means to deal with this digital world inside our current physical world and adds a new layer to the existing city.

“بابل المُصَّغرة”

Thursday, November 15, 2018 to Thursday, November 29, 2018

التاريخ: 15- 29 نوفمبر
الموقع: باحة مطافئ

"ريزون" (Rezone) هي مبادرة فنية وهندسية تم إطلاقها من مدينة سيرتوغينبوش الهولندية. وتسعى هذه المبادرة لإنشاء مشاريع تجمع بين كل من فن العمارة والتخطيط الحضري والفن التجريبي ووسائل الإعلام الجديدة.

وقد أنشأت "ريزون"  Rezone ، بالتعاون مع مهندسي  مكتب "أو إن إل" (ONL)لفن العمارة، و"استوديو إير للتصميم" (Air Design Studio)، و"ماريان مويربيك" (Marijn Moerbeek)، و"توماس روتجرز" (Thomas Rutgers)، خيمة أو جناحًا تفاعليًا ومتنقلًا أُطلق عليه اسم “بابل المُصَّغرة” (Little Babylon). وتُمثل هذه الخيمة مركزًا لتجميع البيانات والمعلومات، ويمكن وضعها في أي مكان أو فعالية أو مهرجان لجمع معلومات عن المدينة التي تقع فيها. تقوم “بابل المُصَّغرة” بتوصيل هذه البيانات للجمهور بطريقة تفاعلية تتخذ شكل عرض ديناميكي سمعي بصري.
وبدرجة أقل، تتفاعل “بابل المُصَّغرة” أيضًا مع الجمهور الحاضر عند استخدامهم لوسائل التواصل الاجتماعي... على سبيل المثال. عن طريق هاشتاغات" محددة. تنقل هذه التجربة الفريدة مزيجًا من البيانات الرقمية وفن العمارة الفعلية والديناميكية بطريقة جديدة كليًّا. وهي تصور، من خلال استخدامها لمؤثرات عرض البيانات ثلاثية الأبعاد، مشاعر السكان لحظة بلحظة في الواقع.

نحن نعيش في زمن أخذ فيه المجال الرقمي حيّزًا هاما جنبًا إلى جنب مع الواقع الحضري المادي الهائل والتراث المتجذر. وتلعب "“بابل المُصَّغرة”"  دورًا مع ماهية التعامل مع هذا العالم الرقمي داخل عالمنا المادي الحالي وتُضيف مستوى جديدًا إلى المدينة الحالية.