Infinite Dimensions

16 July 2019 - 1 September 2019

Location: Fire Station Artist in Residence, Garage Gallery

Curated by Dr. Bahaa Abudaya and Saida Al Khulaifi

 

Under the patronage of Qatar Museums Chairperson, Her Excellency Sheikha Al Mayassa bint Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani, Fire Station Artist in Residence presents Infinite Dimensions. This exhibition, which is open to the public from the 16th of July until the 1st of September 2019, marks the end of a highly successful period of the Artist in Residence Programme – an annual initiative that nurtures creative talent from across the country and worldwide. The residency programme was established in September 2015. During the residency, the artists take their passion to the next level by moving into one of the available studios, collaborating with fellow creators and developing their own artistic technique. They work with curators, benefit from weekly mentoring sessions, and are introduced to professional artists from all over the world, as they represent Qatar in the international cultural community. 

Curated by Dr. Bahaa Abudaya and Saida Al Khulaifi, this edition of the end of year exhibition explored the question of conceptualism in artistic practice. The artists were invited to explore and experiment with new ideas and media to gain a better understanding of the meaning behind conceptual artworks, focusing on ideas and their context rather than their aesthetics.

Presented in three main sections titled Tangible Spectrums, The Edge of Thoughts, and Visual Sphere, the exhibition will provide the visitors with the opportunity to discover and explore more about local contemporary and conceptual art through the display of a wide range of unusual artworks, methodologies, and mediums. 

The artists showcasing their works as part of the 2018-2019 Artist in Residence Programme are as follows:

Abdulla Al-Kuwari (Qatar), Ala Bata (Jordan), Eman Makki (Egypt), Faisal Al-Hajri (Qatar), Federica Visani (Italy), Guillaume Rouseré (France), Hassan Manasrah (Jordan), Jesse Payne (United States), Lolwa Al Solaiti (Qatar), Maryam Al Ameri (Qatar), Michael Perrone (United States), Mohammed Al-Suwaidi (Qatar), Nayla Ahmed (Qatar), Nourbanu Hijazi (Saudi Arabia), Roda Al-Khori (Qatar), Sara Al-Fadaaq (Qatar), Sarah Al-Ansari (Qatar), Shaikha Al Hardan (Qatar), and Sidra Zubairi (Pakistan).

Image Captions in Sequence:

Eman Makki, “Printer Up Above the World So High”, 2019, Receipt printer and thermal paper, 4 x 5.5 x 7 cm (printer).

Hassan Manasrah, “Integration from the series Four Phases for a Bed”, 2019, Acrylic on canvas, 160 x 130 cm.

Sarah Al-Ansari, “Fire and Gold”, 2019, Acrylic ink, oil and bead embroidery, 120 x 120 cm. 

Sarah Al-Ansari, “Spring Emerald Memories”, 2019, Acrylic ink, oil and bead embroidery, 120 x 90 cm.

Hassan Manasrah, “The Blue Bed”, 2019, Iron, 350 x 190 x 100 cm.

Federica Visani & Nayla Ahmed, “Handelier”, 2019, Silicone, metal, zircon, mirrors, wood, PVC and glass, 280 x 280 x 280 cm.

أبعاد لامتناهية

24 مارس 2019 - 31 مايو 2019

المكان: مطافئ، جاليري الكراج

أمناء المعرض: الدكتور بهاء أبو دية وسعيدة الخليفي

 

تحت رعاية سعادة الشيخة المياسة بنت حمد بن خليفة آل ثاني، رئيس مجلس أمناء متاحف قطر، يُقدّم برنامج الإقامة الفنية في مطافئ معرض "أبعادٌ لا متناهية" الذي يستقبل الجمهور من 16 يوليو وحتى 1 سبتمبر 2019. ويأتي هذا المعرض تتويجاً لفترة ناجحة شهدها برنامج الإقامة الفنية الذي انطلق في سبتمبر 2015 ويُعتبر بمثابة مبادرة سنوية لرعاية ودعم المواهب الإبداعية من قطر والعالَم. وخلال فترة إقامتهم، يُطلق الفنانون العنان لشغفهم في الاستوديوهات المخصصة لكل منهم، ويتعاونون مع زملائهم من الفنانين، ويطورون تقنياتهم الفنية الخاصة بهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، يعمل الفنانون المقيمون جنباً إلى جنب مع قيّمي المعرض، ويستفيدون من جلسات إرشادية أسبوعية، ويحتكّون مع فنانين محترفين من مختلف أرجاء العالم، بالإضافة إلى تمثيل قطر في محافل ثقافية دولية.   

اضطلع بمهمة التقييم الفني لهذا المعرض كلٌّ من الدكتور بهاء أبو دية وسعيدة الخليفي. وتُركز نسخة هذا العام على استقصاء موضوع "المفاهيمية" في الممارسات الفنية، حيث طُلب من الفنانين استكشاف وتجريب أفكار ووسائط جديدة خلال إقامتهم في مطافئ بغية تكوين فهم أفضل للمعاني الكامنة خلف الأعمال المفاهيمية، مع التركيز على الأفكار وسياقها أكثر من الأبعاد الجمالية.      

عبر مجموعة أعمال متميّزة تتبنى منهجيات غير معتادة وتستخدم وسائط مختلفة، يُتيح المعرض بأقسامه الثلاثة - "أطياف ملموسة " و"عند تخوم الفكر" و"آفاق بصرية " - فرصة أمام زوّاره لاستكشاف عوالم الفن المعاصر المحلي والفن المفاهيمي. 

الفنانون المشاركون في برنامج الإقامة الفنية 2019/2018:

عبد الله الكواري (قطر)، علاء باطا (الأردن)، إيمان مكي (مصر)، فيصل الهاجري (قطر)، فيديريكا فيزاني (إيطاليا)، غيوم روسيري (فرنسا)، حسان مناصرة (الأردن)، جيسي باين (الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية)، لولوة السليطي (قطر)، مريم العامري (قطر)، مايكل بيرون (الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية)، محمد السويدي (قطر)، نيلة أحمد (قطر)، نوربانو حجازي (السعودية)، روضة الخوري (قطر)، سارة الفدعق (قطر)، سارة الأنصاري (قطر)، شيخة الحردان (قطر)، سدرة زبيري (باكستان).

تفاصيل الصور بحسب ترتيبها

إيمان مكي، "طابعة في فلك السماء"، 2019، طابعة فواتير وورق حراري، 4 × 5.5 × 7 سم (الطابعة).

حسان مناصرة، "تداخل" من سلسلة "أربع حالات لسرير"، 2019، أكريليك على قماش، 160 × 130 سم.

سارة الأنصاري، "نار وذهب" 2019، حبر أكريليك وألوان زيتية وتطريز بالخرز، 120 × 120 سم.

سارة الأنصاري، "ذكريات ربيع الزمرد"، 2019، حبر أكريليك وألوان زيتية وتطريز بالخرز، 120 × 90 سم.

حسان مناصرة، "السرير الأزرق"، 2019، حديد، 350 × 190 × 100 سم.

فيديريكا فيزاني ونيلة أحمد، ثُريّة الأيادي، 2019، سيليكون ومعدن وزيركون ومرايا وخشب وبلاستيك (PVC) وزجاج 280 × 280 × 280 سم.