Exhibition Salah Al Mur

Tuesday, October 8, 2019 to Tuesday, October 22, 2019

Dates: (Opening at 7pm)  8th October – 22 November 2019
Location: Al Markhiya Gallery (Workshop 1), Fire Station

Salah Elmur’s work is composed from a fertile visual vocabulary that draws on his observations of life, returning to childhood and youth for the scenes, situations, and impressions that he depicts in his work. Heavy symbolism, a tendency towards vivid color combinations, and distortion of natural figures and proportions are some of the markers of Elmur’s paintings. His works take the observer to a different reality in which relationships change with the sense of nostalgia. This surrealistic swirl of memory results in tender, intimate vignettes of human relations.

Elmur studied Graphic Design at the College of Fine and Applied Art at Sudan University of Science and Technology in Khartoum. With a career spanning three decades, Elmur has participated in group and solo exhibitions in East Africa, the Middle East, Europe and North America; has published 12 children’s books; and directed six short documentaries and fantasy films which have been shown at international film festivals.

The “Fragrances of the Forest and Photos”-exbibit at the Sharjah Art Museum (UAE) in February 2018 was a retrospective of Elmur’s childhood memories of Sudan.  More recently, in the fall of 2018, Elmur’s work was featured at the Saatchi Gallery in London in “Forests and Spirits: Figurative art from the Khartoum School” alongside two luminaries of Sudanese modernism, Kamala Ishaq and Ibrahim El Salahi. In May 2019, Elmur held a solo-exhibition “Studio Kamal” at the Circle Art Gallery in Nairobi.

Elmur’s works are collected widely and are included in the permanent collection of the Museum of African Contemporary Art Al Maaden (MACAAL) in Marrakech.

جاليري المرخية | صلاح المر

Tuesday, October 8, 2019 to Tuesday, October 22, 2019

التاريخ: (الافتتاح الساعة 7 مساءً) من 8 أكتوبر إلى 22 نوفمبر 2019
الموقع: جاليري المرخية -  مطافئ: مقر الفنانين

تُبنى أعمال صلاح المر على  المفردات البصرية المتراكمة  التي تعتمد على ملاحظاته عن الحياة ، والتي تكونت عبر المشاهد والمواقف والانطباعات التي يصورها في أعماله . تعتبر الرموز الرمزية الثقيلة والميل نحو تراكم طبقات لونية حقيقية وثقيلة احيانا مما يثري اللوحة بالغني اللوني  ومن ثم تشويه الأشكال والنسب الطبيعية من علامات لوحات المر المميزة.  
تأخذ أعماله المشاهد إلى واقع مختلف تتغير فيه العلاقات مع الشعور بالحنين إلى الماضي والغوص في مستقبل الامور . تؤدي هذه دوامة الذاكرة السريالية  إلى ظهور  دائرة منطق الوجود عبر التعبيرات  القصيرة الرقيقة والحميمة للعلاقات الإنسانية.

درس المر التصميم الجرافيكي في كلية الفنون الجميلة والتطبيقية في جامعة السودان للعلوم والتكنولوجيا في الخرطوم. مع خبرة تمتد لثلاثة عقود ، شارك المر في معارض جماعية ومنفردة في شرق إفريقيا والشرق الأوسط وأوروبا وأمريكا الشمالية نشر 12 كتابًا للأطفال ؛ وأخرج ستة أفلام وثائقية قصيرة وأفلام خيال تم عرضها في مهرجانات الأفلام الدولية.

كانت معروضة "عطور الغابة والصور" ، التي عرضت في متحف الشارقة للفنون (الإمارات العربية المتحدة) في فبراير 2018، معروضة استعادية حول ذكريات طفولة المر في السودان. ومؤخرًا، وفي خريف عام 2018 ، تم عرض أعمال المر في جاليري ساتشي في لندن في معرض "الغابات والأرواح: فن تصويري من مدرسة الخرطوم" إلى جانب اثنين من نجوم فن الحداثة السودانية البارزين ، كمالا إسحاق وإبراهيم الصلاحي. في مايو 2019 ، أقام المر معرضًا منفردًابعنوان استوديو كمال  في جاليري سيركل للفنون في نيروبي.

يتم جمع أعمال المر على نطاق واسع وهي مدرجة في المجموعة الدائمة لمتحف الفن الأفريقي المعاصر (مكال) في مراكش ومتحف الشارقة للفنون.,  بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية  Weisman Art Museum ومتحف