EXHIBITION | Mohammed Faraj Al-Suwaidi: Digital Transactions

Wednesday, January 8, 2020

Digital Transactions exhibition introduces Mohammed Faraj Al-Suwaidi’s exploration during his three-month residency at International Studio & Curatorial Program at the International Studio and Curatorial Program (ISCP) in New York in 2019.

In this body of work, Al-Suwaidi is influenced by the world of social media, its continuous series of interactions and the imposed trends on consumers through digital platforms. Times Square’s screens and advertisements that illuminate the streets and expose a large amount of content within a short time frame to the consumer became a crucial starting point of inspiration.

The exhibited works include a series of digital prints, composed of scenes captured around New York and altered using 3D software in a repetitive manner. These scenes are digitized into virtual immersive spaces that the viewer can be part of.

Mohammed Faraj Al-Suwaidi is an architect, animator and designer. He has a BA in Architecture from Plymouth University and an MA in Architecture from the University of Liverpool. He was in residence at the Fire Station in 2018-2019.

Location: Workshop 3, Fire Station
Opening: January 8, 2020 at 7pm
Exhibition will run until February 8
Gallery hours:
Saturday to Thursday: 9am – 7pm
Friday: 1:30pm – 7pm

معرض | محمد فرج السويدي: المعاملات الرقمية

Wednesday, January 8, 2020

يقدم معرض "المعاملات الرقمية" رحلة محمد فرج السويدي وأبحاثه الفنية التي قام بها خلال انضمامه لمدة 3 أشهر في برنامج الإقامة الفنية في برنامج الاستديو والقيمين الدولي في نيويورك في العام 2019.

في هذه المجموعة من الأعمال، يطرح السويدي تأثير عالم التواصل الاجتماعي، وتفاعل المستخدمين المتواصل، والاتجاهات السائدة التي تفرضها المنصات الرقمية على المتلقي. شكلت الشاشات المضيئة في تايمز سكوير في نيويورك بألوانها المنعكسة على الشوارع والتي تعرض من خلال الإعلانات كمًا كبيرًا من المحتوى للمستهلك في وقت قصير نقطة البداية لهذا المشروع.

يتضمن المعرض سلسلة من أعمال الطباعة التي تعرض المشهد العام حول مدينة نيويورك والتي تم تعديلها وتكرارها باستخدام برامج الرسوم المتحركة ثلاثية الأبعاد. كما عمل محمد على تحويل هذه المشاهد إلى مساحات رقمية يمكن للمشاهد تجربتها وأن يصبح جزءاً منها.

محمد فرج السويدي هو مهندس معماري، ورسام ومصمم. حصل على درجة البكالوريوس في الهندسة المعمارية من جامعة بليموث ودرجة الماجستير في الهندسة المعمارية من جامعة ليفربول في المملكة المتحدة، كما شارك في برنامج الإقامة الفنية في مطافئ في 2018-2019.

المكان: ورشة 3، مطافئ
الافتتاح: 8 يناير 2020، الساعة 7:00 مساءً
يستمر المعرض حتى 8 فبراير
ساعات العمل:
السبت إلى الخميس: ٩:٠٠ صباحًا – ٧:٠٠ مساءً
الجمعة: ١:٣٠ ظهرًا – ٧:٠٠ مساءً