Mathaf Screening of Raqs Media Collective

Saturday, July 6, 2019

How do we understand our place in the world and the wider cosmic universe? In this ambiguous moment in which questions of time, resources, economies, the movement of people, and reliance on digital technologies filter into daily life, how to position this contemporary experience in relation to our past and future selves?  

The screening of two works by Raqs Media Collective reflects on these questions. The Blood of Stars (2017) poetically tells a tale of how all life exists with iron, making a connection between humanity and outer space, to suggest we are all formed from stars.

The protagonist in Strikes at Time (2011) escapes his exhaustion, isolation, and sense of lost time by listing the mundane activities of his labouring day. The video narrates the uncanny rhythm of a working day, drawn from found diaries, read by Raqs Media Collective alongside Jacques Ranciere’s La Nuit des Proletaires (The Night of Labour), from 1981.

This event takes place as part of the exhibition Raqs Media Collective: Still More World, on view at Mathaf until July 31st. The screening will be followed by a conversation with artist Shuddhabrata Sengupta and exhibition curators Laura Barlow and Lina Ramadan, and an open Q&A.

Location: Cinema Room, Fire Station
Opening: 06 July, 2019 at 6:30pm

عرض "متحف" لمجموعة رقص ميديا

Saturday, July 6, 2019

كيف نفهم موقعنا في العالم وفي الكون بشكل أوسع؟ في هذه اللحظة الغامضة التي تتغلغل فيها أسئلة عن الوقت و والموارد الطبيعية وتنقل الناس والإقتصادات واعتمادنا على التقنيات الرقمية في الحياة اليومية، ما هو موقع هذه التجربة المعاصرة فيما يتعلق في ماضينا ومستقبلنا؟

يعرض اثنين من اعمال الفيديو لفنانين "مجموعة رقص ميديا" للتفكر في هذه الأسئلة، فيروي فيلم "دماء النجمات" (2017)، قصة عن تواجد عنصر الحديد في شتى أشكال الحياة وكأنما هنالك رابط بين الإنسانية والعالم الخارجي، وذلك بالإيحاء بأننا جميعاً نشأنا من النجوم.

تهرب الشخصية الأساسية في فيلم "إضراب على الزمن" (2011)، وهو رجل مجهول الهوية، من حالة الإنهاك والعزلة ومن الإحساس بالوقت الضائع من خلال تدوين قائمة بأنشطة يوم عمل منهِك. يروي الفيديو إيقاع يوم العمل الغريب، المأخوذ مِن قراءات لفناني مجموعة رقص ميديا لمذكرات مختلفة، بالإضافة إلى كتاب "ليل البروليتاريا" ألّفه جاك رانسيير سنة 1981.  

يقام هذا الحدث كجزء من معرض "مجموعة رقص ميديا: تبقى عوالم أخرى" الذي يعرض في متحف حتى 31 يوليو 2019. وسيتبع العرض محادثة مع الفنان شودابراتا سينغوبتا
وقيمي المعرض لورا بارلو ولينا رمضان، تتبعة أسئلة مفتوحة للجمهور.

المكان: قاعة السينما، جاليري مطافئ الدوحه
الافتتاح: 06 يوليو ٢٠١٩، الساعة 06:30 مساءً