Art and Design Competition
Promoting Qatari Heritage and Art Through Functional Art

About the Competition

Qatar is on the threshold of hosting the most exciting and prestigious global sporting event, the FIFA 2022 football world cup. 

The event will without doubt, provide Qatar an unprecedented level of international exposure and the opportunity to showcase its rich Arab cultural and heritage to the entire world. 

To maximize the exposure of the local heritage and artists, opportunities need to be created for fans and visitors to interact with art rather than the art being confined within the walls of art galleries and museum. 

Fire Station, Qatar Museums and Coastal Qatar are joining hands in embodying the rich Qatari culture and heritage by transforming art by local artists into functional products that the general public can interact with on a regular basis. 

The objective of this project is to provide an unequable platform and mediums of expression for the local artists to showcase their creativity and talent that could be utilized in public spaces, hotels, offices, parks, mosques etc. and at the same time provide exposure to a global audience and revenue streams.

To achieve the above objectives, Coastal Qatar will be conducting a competition under the umbrella of Fire Station and Qatar Museums for the local artists to design specified functional art for the upcoming prestigious projects like Doha beautification, Urban developments, Neighborhood developments and upgradation of public parks.

The details of this project and competition guidelines will be announced on 26th June 2019 during a gathering at the Fire Station Annex at 7pm, with the organizers, artists, and end users like Ashgal, Lusail Management, Katara Hospitality, Qatar Foundation, Ministries, design consultants and International technology partners.

The main categories for the artwork will include the design of the following:

  • A. Landscape & street furniture: Benches, litter bins, bollards, planters and decorative lights.
  • B. Carpets: Rugs, wall to wall and wall hung.

Interested participants shall register themselves following the link below and attend the workshop session with the experts, the date for which will be announced later, to understand the possibilities of designs to create the most feasible functional art.

A jury would be appointed to judge and shortlist designs that could be incorporated into a cobranded design catalogue with the details of the artist, inspiration for the design etc. The designs would be displayed at exhibitions and roadshows. 

The project will enable the participants to enter into an agreement with the project execution entity to enable them to generate revenue as royalty on a long-term basis based on the purchases by the end-users. 

Participants are requested to register themselves through the online form Here.

Apply Now

مسابقة الفن والتصميم
تعزيز التراث القطري والفن من خلال الفن الوظيفي

نبذة عن المسابقة

تستعد قطر لاستضافة أهم البطولات الرياضية العالمية على الإطلاق، ألا وهي مونديال كأس العالم 2022. وبلا شك، فإن هذا الحدث التاريخي سيكون له طابعًا إيجابيًا لنشر الثقافة القطرية والتراث القطري الغني في جميع أنحاء العالم.

ولدعم هذا الانتشار والتوسع الثقافي القطري، فإنه لا بد من خلق فرص لإظهار هذا الفن للمشجعين والسائحين والزوار للتفاعل معه ومع التراث القطري بشكل عملي و ملموس ويومي بدلًا من الاحتفاظ به فقط بين أروقة المتاحف و المعارض.

ولهذا قرر كل من مطافئ: مقر الفنانين  ومتاحف قطر وكوستال قطر توحيد جهودهم ودعم الفنانين لإظهار الثقافة القطرية الغنية والتراث القطري من خلال تحويل الأعمال الفنية المصممة بأيادٍ قطرية ومحلية إلى منتجات عملية ذات طابع فني يتفاعل معها الجمهور بشكل مستمر.

يهدف هذا المشروع إلى منح المصممين منصات مميزة ووسائل للتعبير عن موهبتهم الخلاقة وأعمالهم الفنية المبتكرة وعرضها في الأماكن العامة والفنادق والمكاتب والحدائق العامة والمساجد وغيرها الكثير، و ليس ذلك فحسب ولكن أيضًا منحهم الفرصة لنشر أعمالهم وعرضها على مستوى عالمي لتحقق ربح مادي مجد.

ولتحقيق هذه الأهداف، سوف تقام مسابقة تحت إشراف مطافئ: مقر الفنانين ومتاحف قطر للفنانين القطريين والمحليين لتصميم منتجات فنية ليتم إستخدامها في المشاريع الرائدة المستقبلية مثل مشروع تجميل الدوحة، ومشروع التطوير الحضري، ومشروع تجميل الأحياء، ومشاريع تطوير الحدائق العامة.

وسوف يتم الإعلان عن تفاصيل هذا المشروع وشروط المسابقة من خلال حدث مقام لتجميع الفنانين يوم 26 يونيو 2019 في المبنى الملحق لمطافئ (فوق مقهى 999) ، الساعة 7 مساءً ، حيث أن هذا الحدث سيتضمن حضور كل من الهيئات المنظمة، والفنانين، والقطاعات الحكومية المالكة للمشاريع مثل هيئة الأشغال العامة، ولوسيل، وكتارا للضيافة، ومؤسسة قطر، وعدد من الوزارات ، وشركات استشارات هندسية، بالإضافة إلى شركاء عالميين خبراء بالتكنولوجيا.

الفئات الرئيسية للمسابقة:

  • أ- مفروشات الحدائق و الشوارع مثل: المقاعد، وسلال المهملات، وحواجز الطرق، وأحواض المزروعات وأعمدة الإنارة.
  • ب. السجاد مثل: البسط، وسجاد الممرات أو غرف الفنادق أو المساجد، السجاد المعلق على الحائط.

على الفنانين المهتمين بالمشاركة في هذه المسابقة التسجيل من خلال الرابط التالي: https://form.jotform.me/firestation/art-and-design-competition 

 كما عليهم أيضا الحضور لورشات عمل مع الخبراء لمعرفة المزيد عن إمكانيات ومحددات التصميم المطلوب لتصميم منتجات قابلة للتنفيذ وذات جدوى عملية.

وسوف يتم تعيين حكام محليين وعالميين لتقييم الأعمال الفنية وتنقيحها واختيار مجموعة منها، والتى سوف يتم إدراجها ونشرها لاحقًا ضمن كتالوج  يتضمن اسم الفنان والإلهام وراء هذا العمل الفني ومقتطف عن هذا الفنان. وسوف يتم عرض هذه الاعمال الفنية قبل تصنيعها من خلال المعارض الفنية.

وسوف يتيح هذا المشروع الفرصة للفنانين لعقد اتفاقية مع الجهة المنفذة للمشروع مما يتيح الفرصة للفنانين لتحقيق عائد مادي كحفظ لحقوقهم الفنية عند كل عملية شراء لمنتجاتهم من قبل المستخدمين.

على كل من يرغب بالمشاركة في هذا المشروع تسجيل المشاركة من خلال الرابط هنا

 

قدم الان